Teenage Pregnancy Law Questions
What does one mean by teenage pregnancy?
The term teenage pregnancy is used for a female who is pregnant and is less than 20 years in age. Teenage pregnancy, especially in the case of a minor girl can be a very difficult emotional and legal time. Such a situation can raise a lot of questions in ones mind. Given below are some of the most commonly asked teenage pregnancy questions.
What are the laws governing marriage and teenage pregnancy in Florida?
There are no laws governing teenage pregnancy in Florida. The only exception to this will be when a pregnant teen wants to get married. A teen who is less than 18 years of age but greater than 16 years of age may get married without parental consent if she gets a marriage license. A teenager who is younger than 16 years may be able to get married with parental consent. However, she may have to get a marriage license and the approval of a county judge. Seeking the permission of one parent is enough if the parent has sole custody of the teenager or if the other parent is deceased. If a minor has a child or is pregnant, she may apply for a marriage license if she can get a written statement of her pregnancy from her doctor.
Can a 21 year old person marry a 14 year old girl if she is pregnant in California?
Under most circumstances in California, if either the bride or groom is below the age of 18, at least one of the parents must be present even if the girl is pregnant. The birth certificates of both the bride and groom may be required. The couple will also have to see a counselor before coming in front of a superior court judge. The judge in most cases may approve the marriage if the minors parent gives permission.
Is there a legal requirement to report the pregnancy of a minor in the state of California?
The state of California has set the age of 18 as the legal age for consensual sex. If a person has any kind of sexual relations with a minor, it will be considered a criminal offense. The people may be bound legally to report such crimes to local and state authorities. Any person who does not report such a crime may be charged as an accomplice for withholding information and letting a person get away with a crime.
Can the mother of a 14 year old pregnant girl charge a 19 year old person with statutory rape in California?
The mother may be able to charge a 19 year old person with statutory rape. California states that whether the sex was consensual or not, anybody who has sexual relations with a minor may be charge for a misdemeanor. The individual thus charged, may face jail time in a county jail or in a state prison.
What rights does the father of a pregnant minor child have in Indiana?
In the state of Indiana, the rights of the father of a pregnant child may not change. It will be the same as they were before the girl got pregnant. However, the teenager will have parental rights towards her child.
Teen pregnancy can be a very tough thing to deal with as it can interfere with the persons school and other future plans. It can lead to a lot of emotional turmoil, especially in the case of a minor. The laws that govern pregnancy in teens can be complicated and the parents of such children may not be aware of their rights. One may ask a family lawyer to know more about teenage pregnancy.